Warren Lehrer Honored for His Book Arts

Feb 05 2016

Every year The Center for Book Arts Board honors three important people who have and continue to inform the book arts field, such as a curators, librarians, collectors, organizations, and, of course, artists.  MFAD faculty member Warren Lehrer will be recognized  as one of the 2016 honorees for his contribution to book arts and its connection to the broader world of contemporary art.

Past honorees include Robert Bringhurst (typographer/writer), Louise Bourgeois (artist), Buzz Spector (artist), Bill Dane (librarian), Martha Wilson (artist and Franklin Furnace), Lesley Dill (artist), Arthur Jaffe (collector), Martha Rosler (artist), Keith Smith (artist), Women’s Studio Workshop (organization), Ruth & Marvin Sackner (collectors), Barbara Moore (artist), Steve Clay and  Granary Books, Joan Lyons (artist), Mark Dimunation (Library of Congress)  and Sue Gosin founder of Dieu Donne.

The event this year will be on April 4 at the National Arts Club.  The other honorees are May Castleberry, librarian at MoMA, and Peter Kraus, proprietor of Ursus Books.